Dream Day – The Real Thing

Robbert Oddy

This guy is out of control and I love it! His name is Robert Oddy; he’s been doing stained glass windows since the 80’s, and is quite famous for it, from what I see.

The detail in his windows is unreal.  This rose window, only 12” wide, has pieces so tiny I’m amazed he managed to wrap copper foil around them.  Apparently he cuts his foil to varying widths so that his solder line width changes throughout the window.  I guess that explains the extremely fine solder lines in the centres of the roses.

I like his quote on his website:  “The challenge I set myself with every window is to capture the essence of my subject without compromise to technical difficulties. I try to create depth and subtlety in the representation of natural subjects in stained glass.”   www.robertoddy.com

Leave a Reply

